birdietransfer.exe not working

If BirdieSync 1.x constantly replaces your girlfriend's phone number with your mother's one, this forum is for you...
SittigSuperstar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Germany

birdietransfer.exe not working

Post by SittigSuperstar » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:16 pm

Hi,

hope i didn't overlook something written in this forum, but activesync tells me
that it wasn't able to start the birdietransfer.exe
Even if i try to start it manually, he tells me he can't start it caused by a configuration problem and a reinstall helps.
Is that necessary or do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks
Sebastian

sebbel
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:31 pm

Post by sebbel » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:22 pm

same problem here

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:29 pm

birdietransfer.exe is absolutely necessary to communicate with the mobile. Did you authorize it if you have a firewall ?
Could you tell me exactly the error you get when you launch it manually ?
Notice that your mobile must be connected.
Birdy

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:33 pm

Could you also check that the directory C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\BirdieSync\Log\ exists ?
Birdy

SittigSuperstar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Germany

Post by SittigSuperstar » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:54 pm

Well,

i can't find any log in a path you described. I don't even have a birdiesync folder in "documents and settings/<name>/app data"



The error message which occurs tells me (translated from german by myself):
"The Application C:\Program Files\BirdieSync\Birdietransfer.exe should methodically be started automatically after connecting to mobile.
Application couldn't be started.

Do you want, C:\...\Birdietransfer.exe to be deleted from list of automatically started applications?
("Yes", "No" Buttons below)

sebbel
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 7:31 pm

Post by sebbel » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:56 pm

I have the log dir and a birdie dir .. but in Log Files are only Version Strings

Firewall is deactivated.

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:59 pm

SittigSuperstar > Did you start Thunderbird to configure BirdieSync ? I think that it should create this directory automatically.
Let birdietransfer.exe be started automatically (so the answer is "no" :wink:)
I think that for the moment, the problem comes from the missing log directory.
Birdy

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:00 pm

> sebbel: what's the content of Transfer.log in this directory ?
Birdy

SittigSuperstar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Germany

Post by SittigSuperstar » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:04 pm

Hmm,

i'm wondering, if i'm too stupid....

I started thunderbird and used tools/birdiesync options to configure everything...

And my answer to error message was "no" of course, all the time ;) :wink:

SittigSuperstar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Germany

Post by SittigSuperstar » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:07 pm

I just have seen that in the license window at "tools/birdiesync options" no name and no email occurs :?:
but I am properly registered.
information is not available!

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:11 pm

Well, that's strange: if I delete BirdieSync\log, it is created automatically by Thunderbird in C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\
It is also normal to not have your registration information...
Birdy

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:28 pm

I maybe have an idea about the problem. If you open a command window and launch birdietransfer.exe manually. Do you have an error message displayed ?
Birdy

SittigSuperstar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Germany

Post by SittigSuperstar » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:37 pm

Oh dear,

my system's language is german of course and i have an "application data" folder, in which nothing of birdiesync is saved, BUT

the german translation of "application data" is "anwendungsdaten" and i have such a folder with birdie-logs which was hided... i have found it now, so there it is, the whole folder!
But birdietransfer.exe doesn't work although!

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:40 pm

Great ! So what happens if you start birdietransfer.exe in a command window ? Do you have an error message ?
Birdy

SittigSuperstar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Germany

Post by SittigSuperstar » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:42 pm

Error:

Couldn't execute program!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests