"already running" problem still there in 1.5.0.1

If BirdieSync 1.x constantly replaces your girlfriend's phone number with your mother's one, this forum is for you...
Post Reply
eso
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:13 am

"already running" problem still there in 1.5.0.1

Post by eso » Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:29 am

The release notes of 1.4.0.0 mention the following problem to be fixed:
- On some systems, when Thunderbird or Sunbird were already running before the synchronization, a popup window with "Thunderbird is already running, but is not responding" could be displayed and the synchronization could end with an "attention required"
This problem still exists in 1.5.0.1. If I connect my mobile while Thunderbird (1.5.0.10) is still running, I get the warning. I need to shutdown TB each time before I connect the device to make synching work (on a german XP Pro SP2 with AS 4.5).

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:14 am

Hello,

I sent you by mail a new DLL to investigate on your problem. Could you send me back the log as described in the mail ?
Thanks.
Birdy

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Sun Mar 04, 2007 1:49 pm

The fix was tested and will be included in next version.
Birdy

Slammy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:36 am

Post by Slammy » Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:37 am

Hello.
Even if I do not open TB prior to synch, I do have this message :S
Anyway to try your fix ?

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:43 pm

Before connecting your mobile, could you check in the process list that no "thuderbird.exe" is currently running ? If it is the case, can you give me its axact name (including lower and upper cases) ?

After connecting the mobile, could you tell me the exact name of your Thunderbird process (including lower and upper cases) ?
Thanks.
Birdy

Slammy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:36 am

Post by Slammy » Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:46 am

Before Birdie : Not thunderbird.exe
After : 2 thunderbird.exe ( all lower case )

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:14 pm

Could you tell me how many categories of item you are synchronizing ? (cards, events, ...)
Does this problem occur each time or randomly ?
If you have thunderbird already started before connecting your mobile, do you have a problem ?
Birdy

Slammy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:36 am

Post by Slammy » Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:08 pm

Synchronizing Cards, Events and Tasks.
Each time ( actually, since I patched, I cannot get it to work )
Yes, if TB is started beforehand, I still have an issue.

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Tue Mar 13, 2007 5:44 pm

I will send you a modified version of BirdieSync to analyze the issue.
Birdy

Slammy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:36 am

Post by Slammy » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:32 pm

Birdy wrote:I will send you a modified version of BirdieSync to analyze the issue.
Shall I try 1.5.1.1 ?

fireball
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:35 pm

Post by fireball » Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:02 pm

Are you using "Minimize to tray"-Extension?

Slammy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:36 am

Post by Slammy » Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:47 am

No I'm not :(

ANd 1.5.1.1 is not solving the issue.

One lead though, my Thunderbird data folder was changed ( from C:\something to D:\something_else ), could that be a reason ?

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Tue Mar 20, 2007 2:22 pm

Slammy, a mail was sent to you with a new version of BirdieSync to investigate on your problem.
Birdy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests