Problem with Syncing - "combine or replace"

If BirdieSync 1.x constantly replaces your girlfriend's phone number with your mother's one, this forum is for you...
Post Reply
archiet73
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:41 pm

Problem with Syncing - "combine or replace"

Post by archiet73 » Tue May 15, 2007 1:45 pm

For some reason, today my ipaq has started having problems when syncing.

Every time I plug it in it brings up the "combine or replace" menu and says that there are items that have not been synched before. It then creates duplicates of all events, then removes all the duplicates.

Does anyone know what I can do to fix this?

It was working fine last time I used it (Friday) and I have not installed any new software or done anything else to my computer or pda.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Cheers

archiet

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Wed May 16, 2007 8:46 pm

Hello archiet73,

The quickest solution would be to delete ActiveSync partnership and see if the problems occurs again. But it will lead to a full resynchronization.

The other solution would be to send you a new test version to investigate on your problem and see if it is caused by BirdieSync or ActiveSync.

You can also send to support WCESMgr.log located in C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Local Settings\Temp
Maybe it will have usefull information.
Birdy

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Thu May 24, 2007 10:45 am

There was very likely a problem with ActiveSync partnership (not sure it is related to BirdieSync). Deleting the partnership (ActiveSync window, menu Tools/Delete mobile device) solved the problem. But it leads to a complete resynchronization of the mobile.
Birdy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests