How do I sync with my contacts in thunderbird

If BirdieSync 1.x constantly replaces your girlfriend's phone number with your mother's one, this forum is for you...
Post Reply
phaze112
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:46 pm
Contact:

How do I sync with my contacts in thunderbird

Post by phaze112 » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:50 pm

I am lost here. I followed all the directions when installing BirdieSync, and my phone connects great with my ActiveSync 4.5.

So I have my contacts on my thunderbird and my contacts in my phone.

Contacts is checked in ActiveSync.

Contacts is checked in my thunderbird BirdieSync options under Adress Book.

The phone "syncs" is what ActiveSync tells me. But nothing is transfered one way or the other in terms of my contacts on my mobile blackjack or my thunderbird contact list.

edit: I dunno, I'm just really confused. Where are the commands that would say something like
"transfer my local contacts to my mobile device" or
"transfer my mobile contacts to my local contacts"

with options for overwriting/replacing or not.

Like everything sets up really easy but where are the "action commands" to kick start this thing?

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:22 am

Hello,

You must check "cards" in ActiveSync option window, not "contacts" which is related to Outlook.

Then the options to "Replace" or "Combine" should automatically appear (at least under Windows XP).

Does it solve your problem ?
Birdy

phaze112
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:46 pm
Contact:

hm

Post by phaze112 » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:39 pm

I don't see a check mark next to "cards"

http://www.chcompsol.com/activepic.jpg

phaze112
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:46 pm
Contact:

I meant

Post by phaze112 » Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:24 pm

I meant I don't see a check box next to cards, anyone know why that is so?

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:34 pm

If you are unable to select the synchronization of cards, events, tasks and mails in ActiveSync options window, your mobile is very likely locked. Did you see a warning during installation regarding security policy ? Do you use a smartphone (smartphone are often locked) ? You could have a look to this thread which explains on how to unlock a mobile: http://birdiesync.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=61

You could also give me content of the log file BirdieSyncInstall.log located in C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Local Settings\Temp so I can check if your mobile is locked.
Birdy

phaze112
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:46 pm
Contact:

Yes

Post by phaze112 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:36 pm

Yes I saw the warning and I clicked to permit the application to access the phone.

Here is the content of the BirdieSyncInstall.log:
Local 13/06/2007 17:03:37::0562 Unsigned CABS policy = 16
Local 13/06/2007 17:03:37::0593 Unsigned application policy = 1
Local 13/06/2007 17:03:37::0656 Unsigned prompt policy = 0
Local 13/06/2007 17:03:37::0718 Privileged application policy = 0


I'm going to check out the locked thread you pointed to.

Thanks for the help,
Travis

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by Birdy » Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:04 pm

Your mobile is locked. There are other threads where users mentioned how they succeed in unlocking their mobile. Or you can search on the net with "application unlock" and the type of your mobile. Let me know if you have problems unlocking it.
Birdy

phaze112
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:46 pm
Contact:

Thank You

Post by phaze112 » Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:44 am

Thank you a lot Birdy!

For my At&t Blackjack i607 I found this link here:
http://i607.org/wiki/doku.php?id=application_unlock

I just did exactly as it said and it was unlocked and I was able to check "cards" and all the rest of them also.

Travis

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests