Initial sync from device to desktop

If BirdieSync 2.x constantly replaces your girlfriend's photo with your mother's one, this forum is for you...
Post Reply
tgrigsby
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:19 am

Initial sync from device to desktop

Post by tgrigsby » Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:25 am

When I installed BirdieSync 2.0, it starts off by asking me whether I'd like to merge my desktop into my device, replace my device entries with my desktop entries, or cancel. There's no option to replace my desktop entries with my device entries. I'd rather not lose what I have entered in the past few weeks on my device. Did I miss some setting?

Thanks in advance,

Todd

Gue
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Initial sync from device to desktop

Post by Gue » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:00 am

I also wondered what to do.
So I deleted all entries on my desktop and merged.

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Initial sync from device to desktop

Post by Birdy » Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:34 pm

Yes by now it's not automatically possible to replace the desktop content with the mobile device one during the first synchronization. Maybe it will be possible to do it in the future. But the workaround that Gue proposed is the correct one. But you may be careful in which address book or calendar the items created on the mobile device will be synchronized. I suggest you to read the help file regarding options like "Link calendar to appointment and task category".
Birdy

tgrigsby
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:19 am

Re: Initial sync from device to desktop

Post by tgrigsby » Sat May 22, 2010 12:04 am

Okay, I certainly appreciate the advice, but as one software developer to another, you might want to consider an option to make the mobile device the primary source when first installing the software. I really just use Thunderbird as my backup to my mobile device. The mobile device is my main repository for phone, address, and calendar information.

ldmpub
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:26 am

Re: Initial sync from device to desktop

Post by ldmpub » Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:12 am

+1 : I've got the same problem for my first Synch :? . My mobile is my "reference" ! The workaround works but I've passed 1/2 an hour browsing this forum to solve this issue. Not a nice "first contact" with BirdieSync :evil: .

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests