Android-does BirdieSync create a new calendar?

If BirdieSync 2.x constantly replaces your girlfriend's photo with your mother's one, this forum is for you...
calvin-c

Android-does BirdieSync create a new calendar?

Post by calvin-c »

I'm new to both Android & BirdieSync. Everything is working fine on the Thunderbird end but I'm confused by the messages I get from BirdieSync when I select calendars other than the BirdieSync calendar on my phone. Can BirdieSync synchronize the local phone calendar? Is it a naming problem? I noticed that the new calendar BirdieSync created is named Home, just as my default calendar is in Lightning.

I'm also not sure about the naming conventions in Android-the BirdieSync calendar is shown as being at com.callicia.birdiesync. Does this mean it's out on the Internet? Somebody told me that if com comes first then it's actually local. I don't trust incomplete explanations however-inquiring minds want to know (the truth).

I think I've gotten the other calendars figured out. Phone is the actual calendar stored locally on my phone. The Local My Calendar is the virtual calendar formed by merging all the other calendars. It seems to me that it'd be simpler if I just had one calendar, stored locally on my phone and synced to Lightning via BirdieSync. Can i do that? If so, how?

Thanks. Wonderful product by the way.

Birdy
Site Admin

Re: Android-does BirdieSync create a new calendar?

Post by Birdy »

Hello calvin-c,

Despite the type of BirdieSync account ("com.callicia.birdiesync"), all calendars created in BirdieSync account are LOCAL. There is no synchronization in the cloud. "com.callicia.birdiesync" is not related in any way to an Internet domain name.