Windows Installation

If you dream about having BirdieSync casting your horoscope, this is the place to ask for it...
Post Reply
tobomda
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 7:54 pm

Windows Installation

Post by tobomda » Sat May 07, 2011 5:52 pm

It would be good to have a selection in the windows installer, where the autostart entry should be placed.
On my computer more than person are working (familiy). I only use Birdiesync, so have moved the autostart entry to HKCU profile.
On every update the installer produces a new autostart entry in HKLM profile and at next computer start I get an error message that only one instance can run...
Then I must go to the registry and delete the entry in HKLM.

ajramsayjaneway
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:52 pm

Re: Windows Installation

Post by ajramsayjaneway » Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:46 pm

That sounds like what I need to do, but I'm not familiar with where the autostart entry would be for Birdiesync. Can you be more specific about where in the registry to put the new entry (HKCU) and where the old one is (HKLM)? Thanks.
Alice in Illinois

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Windows Installation

Post by Birdy » Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:54 pm

Here is the path:
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Key name: BirdieSync

It you have a 64 bits version of Windows:
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Birdy

ajramsayjaneway
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:52 pm

Re: Windows Installation

Post by ajramsayjaneway » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:39 pm

Okay, I found the existing one. I have Windows 7 64-bit. Now I assume I delete it from there. Where exactly do I put it in HKCU? I want to make it so that only my user account will be using it. I don't see any existing Run keys, so I'm confused. Thanks so much for your help.
Alice in Illinois

Birdy
Site Admin
Posts: 3015
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Windows Installation

Post by Birdy » Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:56 am

You may try to put it in HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Other 32 bits programs did as well. There doesn't seem to be a Wow6432Node equivalent in Windows 7 64 bits.
Birdy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests